polarisnice.blogg.se

Make bootable pendrive for os x el capitan
Make bootable pendrive for os x el capitan








make bootable pendrive for os x el capitan
  1. Make bootable pendrive for os x el capitan mac os x#
  2. Make bootable pendrive for os x el capitan upgrade#

Make bootable pendrive for os x el capitan mac os x#

At that time, I select to install Mac OS X without rebooting. I then format the internal SSD and then quit the Disk Utility which brings me back to the main menu. , Typically I would boot from the USB by holding the Option key, and then I open Disk Utility from there. That's only my speculation from knowing how Apple can sometimes pull "secret weapons" out of nowhere.

make bootable pendrive for os x el capitan

How can this be the Yosemite recover partition or some "renamed" Yosemite install if everything I am looking at clearly says "El Capitan" 10.11 during the install? The only thing I am suspecting is that "El Capitan" package contains a copy of Yosemite built-in as some form of fall-back mechanism for certain devices that are incompatible with El Capitan, and for some odd reason, maybe a bug in the installation, this El Capitan package is reverting to Yosemite.

make bootable pendrive for os x el capitan

What is surprising about this, is that during the El Capitan installation, the agreement screen and the setup screen, they all say OS X El Capitan, and I did this multiple times to confirm I wasn't making a mistake. Since this is a MacBook Air, I have no network connection, no ethernet port, no WiFi connection during the process when it boots from the USB.

Make bootable pendrive for os x el capitan upgrade#

The reason I need this is because I am testing software for my company and it takes twice as long to upgrade to El Capitan rather than installing El Capitan from scratch. Does anyone have any clue why I can't install El Capitan from scratch? I can only get El Capitan by upgrading Yosemite. I have Googled this and it seems I am the only one with this bizarre thing happening. However, using the same package, I cannot install El Capitan by booting the USB from scratch. So now that Yosemite is up and running, I then open that same USB drive in Mac OS and start El Capitan installation once again while Yosemite is running, and then it upgrades Yosemite to El Capitan successfully with no problem. The last time I did it, I had downloaded a new Mac OS X El Capitan installation package from Apple and once again formatted and recreated the USB stick, and still the same bizarre thing happened. I repeated this process 3 times today just to verify I wasn't going crazy or missing something, and it went exactly as I described. Whatever happened to El Capitan I started installing just minutes ago?Īfter I create my account and load the desktop, I confirm that it is indeed running Yosemite even though I had started the El Capitan installation. When it starts up again, the first screens load with the Terms and Conditions and says Mac OS X Yosemite. Then it takes about another 15 to 20 mins, and then reboots one more time. It just has a the Mac OS X logo (the big X logo inside the circle). However, this time the screen does not say El Capitan as it did before. Again, I am verifying it is in fact installing to the internal SSD, and the screen says "El Capitan" on the screen through the install process.Īfter 15 mins or so, the MacBook reboots and then automatically starts installing MacOS X again, all automatically, just a progress bar and the Mac OS X logo on the screen. I select to install Mac OS X El Capitan to the internal SSD. I boot the USB stick using the Option key and go to Disk Utility and format the internal SSD in the MacBook, which I then verify that it is empty in the end. I created the USB stick using this command: sudo /Applications/Install OS X El Capitan.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia -volume /Volumes/Untitled -applicationpath /Applications/Install OS X El Capitan.app –-nointeraction I boot the USB stick I made from an El Capitan package that I downloaded from the App Store. Bizarre! Somehow during the install of El Capitan it decides to switch and install Yosemite instead of El Capitan. When I boot the USB to the El Capitan installation, everything goes through, but for some reason I end up with Yosemite instead of El Capitan. I made a bootable USB drive with the El Capitan installationfor my 2013 13" MacBook Air.










Make bootable pendrive for os x el capitan